When Time Stands Still

When the worst news I’ll ever hear filled the ultrasound room, time as I knew it came to a screeching halt. I forgot how to breathe. Speaking became a great effort. Making eye contact was nearly impossible. My hands were shaking, my mouth dry, though I didn’t want to eat or drink a thing. I suddenly didn’t care what time it was, or what day it was. Thus, time stood still. 
Terrible things like this happen every day. In fact, every 20 minutes a baby like my sweet Skylar is born in the United States. So many other terrible things happen each and every day, and time never really does slow down.

Everyone remembers the worst day of their lives. How their chest felt tight, as they tried to process whatever it was that changed their life for forever. Your throat closes up, and words become impossible. When Michael held our first baby for the first time, time halted. My, how differently I had imagined that moment would be. 

The saddest part, is that life goes on. You could be on your way home from the hospital after getting the worst news of your life, and you might find yourself being on the wrong end of a rage filled driver. You could be anywhere, and someone could be complaining about how terrible parenthood is, not realizing how painfully you wish to be in their shoes. 

Of course most people I encounter every day don’t know what happened, but because life has begun to move on, I don’t feel the need to tell them. In the time since I lost my boy, I can see the sting that comes with sharing such terrible news. To be frank, I’m tired of being the person everyone feels sorry for. 

I’ve recently had to tell another patient at work what happened to my sweet boy. There have been a few times that I’ve been greeted with seemingly harmless questions like “did you have that baby yet!?” Of course, I always have to tell them what happened. 

The most recent time I had to break the news to someone, it hurt me all over again, but not in the way you would think. The question was asked with such uplifting joy and excitement. When I said I had my baby, but he was gone, her face changed so very quickly. The sorrow was so deep as her eyes filled with tears. 

I sometimes wish I could lie to everyone, because I know I am on their mind for days and weeks afterward. Their hearts break for me, I can see it in their eyes weather or not tears come with the emotion on their faces. It’s one thing to have a broken heart, but to break others with the news of what’s happened to me is so much harder. 

But nevertheless, life has moved on. I’ve noticed it has become less acceptable to be upset about everything, and it’s only been 8 weeks ago. Though I have had two months to learn how to function in the world again, I will never be the same. I appreciate life and everything in it in a completely different light. As, you never know when everything important to you can be turned to ash in a tiny wooden box. 

Bills still come, as do condolence cards. Hospital bills have started flooding in. But there is an extra sting that comes with all the formula coupons, parenting magazines, and different “congratulations on your new baby” mailers from places like target, and diaper companies. 

I try to take one day at a time. Because two months ago time stood still. I understand in other moments, not just the bad, time stands still as well. Time for me stood still in the moments I married my husband, and when we first heard our baby boys heartbeat. I know one day, time will stand still for much better reasons. 

For three consecutive nights before I learned my boy was gone, I had a dream that I didn’t quite understand. I dreamt that I was in the delivery room meeting my baby for the first time. It was a beautiful birth, and that baby was crying to no end, just as I had begged for Skylar to when he was born. 

What was strange was, that baby was a girl. I recall waking up each time following this dream thinking, what? I’m having a boy? And I’m happy he’s a boy! Why am I dreaming this? I’ve clung to that dream ever since. It made no sense to me at the time, and I just told myself I must have been all my hormones. Now however, I hope that dream was a sign. 

The dream was so very real to me. In that dream, time stood still. I can still picture it clear as day. One day I hope time for me will stand still because of something good. But, until then, life moves on. Every day takes me further and further away from my sad, sad story.. and I’m okay with that. I try to look forward to what life has in store for me. I look forward to time standing still again. Because next time, it might be something good.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

